PROLOGUE
She jumped out of the bed and ran wild to pick up the ringing phone. I lay there like a dead vegetable, startled, saying nothing. Nothing was running through my mind. You would mistake me for a zombie. The best I could do was breathe and wait for the next step. Roisin always liked to dance and sing to my ringtone word by word. I found that childish but she enjoyed it and I had no right to rob her off her happiness. She would sing until it stopped ringing, then hand me the phone the second time it rang.
Roisin loved my Ringtones. It was Adele who always sang. On this day, Adele and Roisin sang :
This is the end

Hold your breathe and count to ten

Feel the earth move, and then

Hear my heart burst, again

For this is the end

I’ve drowned and dreamt this moment

So overdue I owe them

Swept away, I’m stolen

 

Let the sky fall

When it crumbles

We will stand tall

Face it all ,together

Let the sky fall

When it crumbles

We will stand tall

Face it all, together

At Skyfall

This day, she sang, glanced at my phone, kept quiet then passed the phone. The caller’s name read Witch. I didn’t want to ruin our second year anniversary with Roisin. I fucking put it clear to the bozos that I won’t take any assignments. Not until I’m done celebrating with my woman.

With the type of vocation that I had, I was not supposed to have any strong links to people or even fall in love, but then love comes, and there we were.

Roisin did not know what kind of job I was doing. All I had to do was tell her that it was safer that she didn’t know, and just like magic, she understood. At least that was one thing I could count on her.
The weird name made her angry and the fact that I didn’t pick up made her angrier. I didn’t want to ruin the moment of course, so I soothed her with oils of words.
Things took a turn when the Chief himself sent a text and it popped up. It read:

Allan, our efforts are futile without your input. Get your ass in the fucking conference room, it’s the only shot we got. Renege on me at the expense of your girl.

If the Chief sent a text, in bold, then it should have been something that none of the other monkeys working round the clock could do. Fuck, things were getting out of hand.
Β©Rashid Hunt 2017

19 thoughts on “ONE SHOT ONE KILL: PROLOGUE

Comments are now closed.